Sweet Treats in NYC

Since returning from Greece I have been hitting up some of my favorite dessert spots around the city. First stop was Magnolia Bakery at 69th and Columbus Avenue. Although I do love their cupcakes, my favorite item on the menu is the Vanilla Cake with Vanilla Buttercream. Β I ordered a slice and sat at one of the little tables inside overlooking the street to eat it. At $4.25 it is a little steep but so worth it. On the way out I bought a frosting shot for $0.50 (arguably the best deal at Magnolia). Next stop was 16 Handles at 75th and Amsterdam. The newly opened self-service frozen yogurt store is always packed but the line moves fairly quickly. At $0.52 per ounce, 16 Handles falls in line with most other frozen yogurt shops. Credit cards are accepted. The chain also has Upper East Side and East Village locations. With 16 flavors “on-tap,” I haven’t tried them all but I would definitely recommend Cookies & Cream, Birthday Cake, Red Velvet Cake and Peanut Butter. The toppings are plentiful and slightly overwhelming. The waffle cup for $1 is always a great addition.

I’m excitedly awaiting the opening of the Chobani Greek Frozen Yogurt Shop in SoHo at Prince and West Broadway (150 Prince Street), close to my new apartment in Tribeca. The shop is planning to open later this summer. I’ve been in search of Greek Frozen Yogurt since returning from Greece. We’ll see if the Chobani shop is as good as FroYo in Athens!

Leave a Reply

