New to the neighborhood

This week I have been putting the finishing touches on my apartment in Tribeca. My roommate Addie started work last Monday so I have been the stay at home roommate, exploring the neighborhood in my free time as well. Tribeca or TriBeCa stands for the triangle below Canal Street. The neighborhood is bounded by Canal Street, West Street, Broadway and Chambers Street.The closest subway stop is at Franklin Street two blocks west. My building is on the east side of the neighborhood between Broadway and Church Street. As is to be expected the strip of Broadway in the Tribeca neighborhood is very commercial and busy. I am steps away from a convenience/drugstore, Dunkin Donuts and Variety Cafe (read 24hr dining hall). If I leave my building and head west it is quiet and calm and I quickly find myself in the midst of a number of independent cafes and coffee shops, upscale clothing boutiques and high end restaurants.The office is 0.8 miles away and the West Side Highway running path 0.4. It really seems to be the best of both worlds!

My best find yet may be Billy’s Bakery located around the corner on Franklin Street! It is a more genuine version of Magnolia Bakery. I haven’t tried everything yet but I would definitely recommend the carrot cake! Excited to start work on Monday!

Leave a Reply

