Two Weeks in Review + NYRR Oakley Mini 10k

Week of 6/3
81 miles
4x core
16mi long run
2 days in Princeton (Reunions)

Week of 6/10
79 miles
4x core
16mi long run
10k Road Race in 35:11
2 days in Spring Lake

A bit behind with my blogging here! I had two whirlwind weeks and am finally getting a chance to relax and recap. Last week was full of excitement in the form of 4x2mi with 2min recovery (11:19 avg.) on a completely flooded track, a Friday 4:15am 12mi MP/HMP tempo run and a 90 degree 16mi long run in Princeton with former teammates! Getting out of bed Friday morning was a major struggle but I told myself it would be good practice for the slightly earlier start at Grandma’s. It was definitely worth it! The crazy early workout freed me up for fun (runs) with friends during the Reunions weekend at Princeton.

Saturday morning long run in Princeton with the old crew!

Saturday morning long run in Princeton with the old crew!

Started this week on the back foot but managed another solid week of training. I went back over to the Lower East Side track Tuesday for 6×800 (2:38 avg.) with lap jog recovery. Saturday I was able to tie a solid effort/workout in with the NYRR Oakley New York Mini 10k. The race was also part of the NYRR Team Points series and we (NYAC) edged out West Side Runners for our third win of the season! Last year while warming up for this race I collided with a walker and broke my elbow. I didn’t know it at the time so still ran the race. It was not fun. To say I wasn’t looking forward to this race is an understatement. I am happy to report that there were no broken bones this year! The race was uneventful and went according to the plan, which was to run 5:40-5:43 pace. Capped of the week with a leisurely long run at the beach on Sunday. I am now two weeks away from USA 1/2 @ Grandma’s and starting to get excited. Just a couple more workouts before the big day!

2013Mini_pros01

Start of the NYRR Oakley New York Mini 10k. You can see me at the very far left!

Leave a Reply

