Jingle Bell Jog & Girls on the Run 5k

Yesterday morning I made the trip to Brooklyn for the Jingle Bell Jog, my sixth and final NYRR race of the year! The race traversed the 4mi outer loop of Prospect Park, a miniature version of Central Park also designed by Frederic Law Olmsted. After a solo warm-up around the loop I met up with the NYAC squad on the starting line. Matt Forys had graciously offered to run with me so I settled in with him right after the start. Things felt a bit quick out of the gates but I was able to get into a good rhythm after the first (uphill) mile. Matt was awesome. He helped to keep pace, blocked the wind and yelled at oblivious joggers on the course. Thank you Matt! I finished the race as the first women/ninth overall in a 4mi PR of 22:10. I’ve really enjoyed mixing it up with these shorter NYRR races. It has been a relatively painless way to get in some speedwork for Club XC. I’m really looking forward to the trip to Bend, OR with my teammates next week!

Screen shot 2013-12-08 at 4.09.39 PM

Breaking the tape with Matt!

This morning I took part in the semi-annual Girls on the Run NYC 5k at Icahn Stadium as a Running Buddy! GOTR is an amazingย youth development program for girls in 3rd-8th grade. The organization teaches life skills through dynamic, interactive lessons and running games and culminates with a celebratory 5k running event.ย Although temperatures were below freezing, spirits were running high! I teamed up with Reilly Kiernan and Alexa Glencer to help our 7th grader from the Tilden Hall homeless shelter in Brooklyn complete her first 5k ever! ย It was a great weekend of running!

One thought on “Jingle Bell Jog & Girls on the Run 5k

Leave a Reply

