Boston Marathon: This is it!

Well this is it… F33 is off to Boston tomorrow! The gun goes off @ 9:32 am on Monday morning!

I was asked write a piece on this training segment for The Winged Foot, NYAC’s monthly publication. I thought it was fitting for my final pre-race post as well:

The seed was planted at the 117th edition of the Boston Marathon. I awoke early that morning to make the trip out to the halfway point of the course in Wellesley.  Following a beautiful run on the trails behind the Wellesley campus, I staked my  claim on some prime roadside real estate and anxiously awaited the arrival of the Elite Women. The excitement and energy in the air was palpable!  After spending hours cheering and soaking in the amazing display of crowd support and athletic achievement, I set my sights on the 118th running of the storied race. When it was time to head home to NYC, I didn’t want to leave but knew that I would be back! Shortly after returning to my friend’s Hereford St./Commonwealth Ave. apartment to pack my bags, two loud explosions stopped me in my tracks. Watching the scene unfold on the street below strengthened my resolve, erasing any doubts I may have had about taking on the challenging and unforgiving course.

These scenes are the ones I’ve tried to recall in the snow, sleet and rain. When I’ve been slogging solo through seemingly endless miles in the early morning and late at night, I think back to that day in Boston and what a honor it will be to step up to the line in Hopkinton with the red NYAC letters emblazoned across my chest. As with any marathon training cycle, there have been rough patches. The weather this past winter might have derailed my training had I been preparing for any other race, running for any other club. Having access to the amazing facilities at the City House kept me on track every time NYC was crippled by snow and ice. Supportive teammates (Roads Team & Runners Club alike) offered constant encouragement through many a race and workout.  The New York Athletic Club support system surpasses anything I could have imagined as a post-collegiate runner. Thank you NYAC. I couldn’t do it without you!

While I’m on the topic- HUGE thank you to Coach Terry Shea and all of Team T-Bone, Dr. Emily Kiberd at Urban Wellness Clinic, Brooks Running, & PowerBar.  Wouldn’t be headed to the starting line without your support! THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

