Off to the Races in 2015!

We are nearly two months into 2015 and I am finally publishing my first post…that and this title pretty much sum up the start to my year! Before more time passes-

Sponsors & Supporters:
I am so lucky to have Coach Terry Shea, The New York Athletic Club, Brooks I.D., PowerBar, and Urban Wellness Clinic supporting me for what I hope will be another awesome year! Thank you! I am very excited to announce that I am now a Girls Gone Sporty Ambassador and will also have Nuun, LouvaGear, and AthleteBiz joining me on my running journey in 2015!!
 

Nuun, based in Seattle, WA, was originally the brainchild of a student and professor from the Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth College. An avid cyclist, he longed for a lightweight, easy to use hydration method that didn’t include a sticky high-calorie mess. His research led to the creation of a sugarless, dissolvable, and portable tablet called Nuun.

Eight years later, Nuun Active Hydration is the #1 selling sports drink tab in the cycling, running and outdoor specialty marketplaces. As education about hydration and wellness grows, Nuun has become more accessible to a wider range of people. In response, Nuun has expanded its product line from sports performance hydration to include two all-natural, vitamin-enhanced products for everyday use, Nuun All Day Hydration and U Natural Hydration.

I’ve been a proponent of Nuun for awhile and have posted multiple times about the product — see here and here. I am so excited to finally be a member of Team Nuun. As a member of the competitive athletic team, I will be an ambassador of the brand in all the areas in which I live, work, play, and compete! Hoping to take my training to the next level this year with Nuun as my hydration product.
 
I stumbled across LouvaGear on Twitter and got in touch with co-founder Amy, who in 2013 decided to make her passion for running a bigger part of her life! It all started with a running blog and the rest as the say, is history…
 
I’ve always loved the look of arm sleeves and when I finally decided after college that I was going to stop pretending I could tough out the cold, I loved their feel, versatility and practicality! LouvaGear takes it up a notch with an innovative sleeve product that combines arm and hand coverage. The awesome hybrid sleeves are sleek yet simple, comfortable and inexpensive! Excited to hit the roads with Louva this year!
 

AthleteBiz, founded by USATF vice-chair Jack Wickens in 2013, is a web platform designed to launch entrepreneurial opportunities and fitness role model activations for aspiring Olympic athletes. Athletes can use the site to share updates, offer inspiration, and build their personal brands. In turn, fans can use AthleteBiz to connect with athletes in a social setting, follow their journeys, and hire them for engagements ranging from sponsored content to speaking opportunities.

 Check out my new profile here!

Races & Training:

I started off 2015 just like 2014, with a trip down to Houston, TX for USA Half-Marathon Championships! I had a blast (again) and really surprised myself, coming away with a 55s PR of 1:13.11. I couldn’t have asked for a better day with ideal race-day temperatures, an awesome and supportive roommate and pack-running perfection!
Can you find me?!

Can you find me?!

With my return to the frozen tundra came a big jump in mileage with the US Marathon Championships (LA Marathon) rapidly approaching!! I’ve made good friends with the treadmill and have done many of my workouts for this training segment on the torture device, memorizing a number of iTunes radio stations and exhausting a couple of “seasons” of podcasts in the process. The race will be my first time back to Southern California since my parents moved back to the East Coast 4+ years ago! Can’t wait to run from stadium to sea on March 15th!
3 thoughts on “Off to the Races in 2015!

  1. So excited to follow you in LA! You are going to be one tuff cookie after all that time on the treadmill. Way to stay committed to you goals and be flexible in your training for them despite some diversity with the weather. Going to be awesome for you to get some well deserved sunshine in CA!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

